CBSE Class 12 Syllabus: Physics, Chemistry, Maths, Biology, English

Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) conducts board exams for class 12 in the months of February and March 2019. The results for the same is generally announced in May 2019.


The Board offers two options for science students. One is PCB which includes subjects such as Physics, Chemistry and Biology. PCM is the other one which has Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as major subjects. Preparing for the examination, students require to put more hard work and a solid plan of action.


CBSE Class 12 Physics Syllabus


For class 12 Physics CBSE has reduced the curriculum load by eliminating overlapping of concepts within the discipline and other disciplines. Physics syllabus puts emphasis on the use of SI units, symbols, nomenclature of physical quantities and formulations as per international standards.


Physics subject has both theory and practical exams. The theory part consists of 10 units- Electrostatics, Current Electricity, Magnetics Effects of Current and Magnetism, Electromagnetic Induction and Alternating Currents, Electromagnetic Waves, Optics, Dual Nature of Radiation and Matter, Atoms and Nuclei, Electronic Devices, and Communication System. First two units are given 15 marks together, unit three and four are of 16 marks, unit five and six are of 17 marks, unit seven and eight are awarded 10 marks, and for unit nine and ten - 12 marks are awarded.


Practical exam will be evaluated on the basis of four factors such as Experiments, Practical record (experiments and activities), Investigatory Project, and Viva which are awarded 16, 6, 3, and 5 marks respectively. The subject Physics paper is of 100 marks- the theory is 70 and practical 30.


CBSE Class 12 Chemistry Syllabus


The curriculum of class 12 Chemistry makes students capable of studying the subject in academic and professional courses such as medicine, engineering and technology at the territory level. It acquaints students with different aspects of chemistry.


Chemistry subject has the theory and practical exams. The theory part is divided into 16 units. It is awarded 70 marks which includes the study about Solid State, Solutions, Electrochemistry, Chemical Kinetics, Surface Chemistry, General Principles and Processes of Isolation of Elements, p-Block Elements, d and f Block Elements, Coordination Compounds, Haloalkanes and Haloarenes, Alcohols, Phenols and Ethers, Aldehydes, Ketones and Carboxylic Acids, Organic Compounds Containing Nitrogen, Biomolecules, and Polymers. First six units together are awarded 23 marks, six to nine units are of 19 marks and unit 10 to 16 is given 28 marks.


Practical part has five evaluation exam schemes such as Volumetric Analysis, Salt Analysis, Content-Based Experiment, Project Work, Class record and viva. Practical examination is of 30 marks.


CBSE Class 12 Biology Syllabus


The class 12 Biology syllabus helps students to enhance awareness about environmental issues, problems and their appropriate solutions. The subject Biology has both theory and practical exam. Biology theory consists of five units such as Reproduction, Genetics and Evolution, Biology and Human Welfare, Biotechnology and its Applications, and Ecology & Environment. It is awarded 14, 18, 14, 10, 14 marks respectively and the exam is of 70 marks.


Biology practical has six units. The students will have to complete one major experiment, one minor experiment, a slide preparation, and spotting. Students will be evaluated by their practical and project record as well as their performance on the Viva Voice. The Practical test is of 30 marks.


CBSE Class 12 Mathematics Syllabus


The class 12 Mathematics subject aims to help students to feel the flow of reasons while proving a result or solving a problem. The syllabus has made in a way to develop a positive attitude to think, analyse and articulate logically. It will raise an interest in students to choose Mathematics as a discipline for higher studies.


Mathematics subject is divided into six units which include Relations and Functions, Algebra, Calculus, Vectors, and Three-Dimensional Geometry, Linear Programming, and Probability. Units are awarded 10, 13, 44, 17, 6 and 10 marks respectively. The exam is of 100 marks and the total duration is three hours.


The syllabus of English contains three parts which include Reading Skills, Writing Skills with grammar, and literature textbook and long reading text. The examination is of 100 marks and the total duration of the exam is three hours.


The first unit will enhance the students' ability to conceptualise, decode, analyse, summarise and use appropriate format while reading. The second unit improves learner to grasp appropriate format and fluency in writing.


The final unit i.e, literary textbooks and long reading text is more focused on recalling, reasoning, appreciating literary conventions.

Source :
27 Sep, 2018 2619 views General